Deadlines, Deadlines, Whoosh…

Published September 8, 2013 by LS Murphy

I’m on a deadline. It’s a personal deadline, but a deadline nonetheless. 

Yep, I am totally freaking out that I will miss it, which will screw up my plans for the rest of the year. 

Okay, I should calm down about it, right? I mean, it’s not like it’s a REQUIREMENT. 

BUT I LIKE TO STAY ON TARGET!!!!!

My deadline is to finish this current WIP (FULL COUNT) by the end of September. I’m sitting just over 45k. Things seem to be getting in the way lately, and it’s driving me batty. If I can write every day, I’ll still make my deadline. 

HOWEVER …

I think I’ve underestimated my word count for this first draft. 

So why needlessly put myself on deadlines? If I don’t, I’ll jump from project to project without finishing any of them.

I’ve got Writer’s ADD. 

Right now, I’m sitting on a novel (NO REGRETS) I finished around the 18th of August. I really want to start rewriting it, but I need to sit on it for at least a month if not longer. Distance makes the heart grow fonder. It also helps me figure out what’s wrong with it.  In the meantime, I’ve been working on FULL COUNT, which I actually started last year. Like I said, it’s at 45k and I think I’m only halfway done.

Then there’s this other awesome idea I’ve been toying with, along with another one I’ve been outlining. It’s a never ending circle sometimes. 

Why must I complete FULL COUNT by the end of September? Because the month of October will be devoted to rewriting and revising and editing NO REGRETS. I have a very structured revision process and have to stick to it. If I don’t, well … let’s just say it won’t be pretty. Come November 1st, NO REGRETS will be hitting the emails of three different readers.

November, currently, is scheduled for revisions for FULL COUNT. December is for tweaking NO REGRETS before sending to the agent. 

So, if you don’t see me online a lot lately, that’s why. I really want to get FULL COUNT finished by the end of this month. If I can swing it, I’ll have the revisions done by the end of November to send to a few readers in December. 

See, I have a plan. 

By the way, January is the month I pass out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

