Glutton for Punishment

Published August 20, 2013 by LS Murphy

How many times have you heard a writing refer to their muse? Quite a lot, I’m willing to bet.

We complain that our muse has left us, or our muse gives us ideas at the most inopportune times like driving on the highway or in the midst of shampooing.

Do you ever hear a writer complain that their muse is OVERACTIVE?

Nope, but maybe I’m a glutton for punishment. My muse has been in overdrive for the last year. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. Sometimes it seems like there’s so much going on in my head, I have to write it down or spontaneous combustion is a real possibility.

Sunday, I finished my most recent novel, NO REGRETS. While it’s just a first draft, it’s still DONE!

So, what did I do? Yep, I started something else. Well, sort of.

Last year, I attempted NaNoWriMo for the hell of it. I failed miserably. Well, not miserably. I hit 37k words before other things got in the way. So I put the novel on the back burner. I read through the draft last month and figured out what was wrong with it and were it needed to go. I cut around 8k. Last night, I started working on it again. Now, I’m back up to 35k on it. By the end of September, I hope to have a completed first draft.

That would be two novels completed and ready for revising.

I love my muse!

*Psst* I’ve also been writing something else longhand. 🙂

Happy Writing.

3 comments on “Glutton for Punishment

  • Impressive. Finishing an ms is a reason to celebrate. I suggest a sparkly pen or a shiny notebook. My muse likes things that sparkle.

  • My muse is making me crazy. She keeps trying to distract me from finishing ILHILHN, to the point that I’m practically paralyzed. Grrr.

    That said, I’m (sort of (im)patiently waiting for NO REGRETS to appear in my In Box. I could use a good cry. =)

  • Leave a Reply

