Goodbye, Stan

Published January 20, 2013 by LS Murphy

Yesterday started off great. I celebrated the release of Reaper and held my first book signing. The day ended in sadness when the St. Louis Cardinals announced the passing of Stan Musial. Instead of my intended post with photos from the event, I want to talk to you about Stan.

There is a reason my blog is called Banshees, Books, and Baseball. I like all things paranormal, will read any book, and I adore the game of baseball. It’s not unknown that my favorite team is the St. Louis Cardinals. Stan “the Man” Musial was the greatest Cardinal of them all.

Anybody can look up his stats to see what a phenomenal player he was during his 22 year tenure with the Cardinals. Yes, Stan played his entire career for one team. That is unheard of these days. Players go where the money is as Cardinal Nation learned the hard way after their World Series run in 2012. Stan was loyal to his team and to this city. That means more than his stats.

Bernie Miklasz of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch wrote a column last year about Yadier Molina. He called Molina the soul of the current roster. While Yadier Molina is the soul of this team, Stan the Man was the soul of the franchise.

Every Cardinal fan knows of his contributions on and off the baseball field. Even if they occurred before we were born. Musial retired several years before I was born, but my father regaled me with stories of his favorite Cardinal. My four-year-old daughter knows who Stan is, even if she doesn’t understand who he truly was. Musial was one hell of a baseball player, and he was a kind man. Stan cared about his fans and this city. He loved baseball. He loved his family. He loved life.

We can all learn from someone like Stan Musial. He was a hero because of his skills, but he was a legend because of his heart.

Rest in Peace, Stan. And thank you.

2 comments on “Goodbye, Stan

  • Very well said. I am a huge Cardinals fan, and Stan will surely be missed. I was watching hockey when I learned of Stan’s passing. Any coincidence that the Blues scored 6 goals last night and Stan was #6?

  • Leave a Reply

