5 Questions with Jennifer Silverwood

Published December 4, 2012 by LS Murphy

Jennifer Silverwood was raised deep in the heart of Texas and has been spinning yarns a mile high since childhood. In her spare time she reads and writes and travels, whether it’s the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania, the highlands of Ecuador or a road trip to the next town. Always on the lookout for her next adventure, in print or reality, she dreams of one day proving to the masses that everything really is better in Texas. Her first novel is “Qeya: Heaven’s Edge.”

Website     Blog     Goodreads

 Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

 1. What was the spark of inspiration for Qeya?

The spark of inspiration came when I was nine years old and we had bought our first computer. I had grown up on Star Wars movies and was a sci-fi kid through and through. I loved the stories where kids were forced to survive without adults. And that’s where my first short stories began. Then, a few months back, I was trying to come up with a short story idea for a science fiction article. It thought of my old stories and thought it appropriate to use them as my first stab at publishing.

2. What was the most difficult aspect of building another world?

Building another world is easy. Maybe it’s a side effect of being raised like an only child. I can see it all in my head and the story just fleshes itself out. But the hardest part of world building for me is trying to translate that for my readers. It’s easy for an author to write something that makes sense to them. But one thing my editor challenged me with was going deeper, describing more. That’s when the story got a lot better, of course. When it wasn’t just all in my head.

 3. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

To all aspiring authors out there, my advice is to not just dream about it, do it. The only thing holding you back is you and once you get past that, the dream will come true. Also, persistence and determination are biggies. You have to really want this, otherwise it’s not happening. And devote your time to writing your books. There are all sorts of things out there designed to help authors promote themselves, etc. But the best thing you can do is get as many books out there as possible. That’s what I’m attempting to do right now.

4. If you could go back in time, where would you go?

If I could go back in time it would most certainly be the Victorian Age. With any time in the past you’re obviously giving up some modern conveniences. But I love the fashion, the society and the last golden age for many monarchies. My favorite novel is Gone With the Wind, so I’d love to live in the old south or west as well. (A romanticized version of course)

5.  Finally, Star Wars or Star Trek?

Choosing between Star Trek and Star Wars may be easy for some people. But I was raised on both. As a kid I was a hard core Star Wars fan. But now I lean more to the Trekkie side of thinking. Then again, it’s hard to choose between two great things.

Available now at Smashwords and Amazon

2 comments on “5 Questions with Jennifer Silverwood

  • Leave a Reply

