{Blog Tour} Guest Post: It Started with a Dream by Sarah DiCello

Published October 22, 2012 by LS Murphy

I’m thrilled to have Sarah DiCello stop by today to tell us how she came up with the idea for As I Close My Eyes, her YA historical novel with a time travel twist. Take it away, Sarah!

At the risk of sounding very lame, the title of this blog post says it all about how I came up with my first novel, As I Close My Eyes. It’s very true. A little over two years ago in May I shot up from bed having just dreamt about my main character, Dani. I saw her for a split second but that was all I needed. I became obsessed with her. While driving to visit my husband’s family in Wilmington, Delaware, I told him about the dream and his response was, “That’d make a great book.” We went over scenarios on our two-hour trip and I began to plot out the book chapter by chapter. I never expected to write a word and thought he was crazy for suggesting I write a novel. I didn’t know where to start and it took me a few weeks to actually sit down at the computer because it terrified me. I had gone to school for journalism but fictional writing was an entirely different ball game.

However, the very first night I started typing I couldn’t stop. It was as if the words were coming to me faster than my fingers could tap on the letters of the keyboard. I’d write three to five chapters in a night and after three months I had a complete novel.

I kept my new hobby from everyone, fearful about what they would think. When I eventually got up the courage to tell my best friend I felt like I was saying, “I’m going to move to Hollywood and become an actress.” People just don’t do that and they just don’t write novels every day. Some looked at me like I had three heads and others accepted my new passion with open arms.

Despite having completed my very first novel, I ignored it for about a year. I didn’t know what to do next. After a confession to another good friend (and now published author) together we decided to jump in with both feet and pursue our dreams, learning from each other along the way. A few months later she signed with an independent publisher and a week after that, Taylor Street Books found me. We both had contracts and were on our way to becoming official authors.

I’ve learned a lot along the way and am now in the process of completing the sequel to As I Close My Eyes due out Christmas 2012.

I’m amazed at the devout followers my first book has created. These “strangers” are so supportive and are willing to shout it from the rooftops on every social media platform that As I Close My Eyes is one of their favorite books. Many have messaged me on my Facebook author page to tell me they can’t wait for the sequel.

It’s crazy that it all started with a dream and even more insane to think that people genuinely love something I wasn’t even sure I was going to finish.

Look for the sequel Christmas 2012 on Amazon. You can find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sarahdicelloauthor or via Twitter at @sdicello. I also have a blog – www.sarahdicello.blogspot.com.

About As I Close My Eyes:

You know you are alive, but what if you are dead?
Danielle Grayson is a beautiful, intelligent young woman in present-day Georgia, but when she closes her eyes, she becomes someone else in a different time, one hundred years earlier in fact.

Danielle’s other life is as entrancing and romantic as her current one, and the contrast between the lifestyles is intriguing and enlightening (they didn’t have iPods in 19th century USA, apparently), but what starts out as being dreamlike soon becomes real and strangely familiar.

Worse, whatever happens to her as Danielle seems to change the past, if it is a true past.

And when she finds she is not alone in being able to flip between the two worlds, life, love and death become really disturbing.

Available from Amazon.com – here
Available from Kindle – here

About the Author:

Sarah DiCello is new to Taylor Street.

She writes fantasy / romance.

She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, two daughters, and two dogs. She graduated from Shippensburg University with a degree in Communications/Journalism.

This is her first novel. Look for the sequel to “As I Close My Eyes” Christmas 2012.

One comment on “{Blog Tour} Guest Post: It Started with a Dream by Sarah DiCello

  • Leave a Reply

