{Blog Tour} 5 Questions with author Nina Croft, PLUS A GIVEAWAY!

Published October 4, 2012 by LS Murphy

Nina Croft grew up in the north of England. After training as an accountant, she spent four years working as a volunteer in Zambia, which left her with a love of the sun and a dislike of 9-5 work. She then spent a number of years mixing travel (whenever possible) with work (whenever necessary) but has now settled down to a life of writing and picking almonds on a remote farm in the mountains of southern Spain.

Nina writes all types of romance often mixed with elements of the paranormal and science fiction.

Website     Twitter     Facebook

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1. What was the spark of inspiration for Break Out?

Break out is a mixture of sci-fi and paranormal romance, and there were actually two things that inspired it.

The first was watching the sci-fi series Firefly for about the third time. I love the series and I decided I wanted to write a space opera, because they’re fun and absolutely anything can happen.

The second was a serious case of paranormal deprivation. A while back, my husband asked me—why didn’t I write a good book? By ‘good’ he actually meant without any romance, vampires, werewolves or aliens. So, I wrote him a thriller, which I loved doing (it’s called The Descartes Legacy and will be out early next year!) And while a little (okay, a lot) of romance sneaked into it and maybe just a little bitty alien, there were no vampires and no werewolves, and by the time I’d finished writing I was in desperate need of a paranormal fix. So when I started plotting Break Out, and the pilot of my space ship turned out to be a vampire, I wasn’t too upset and actually welcomed him with open arms.

So there I was – vampires in Space.

2. Which character would you rather be, Rico or Skylar?

I think I have to say, Rico. I’m not a particularly confident person and I think it would be great to have just a little of Rico’s self-confidence. Rico is old, and he’s not always ‘good’, but he’s come to terms with what he is and he’s comfortable in his own skin. And he knows how to enjoy life.

Skylar on the other hand has a lot of self-doubts. She’s more like me (except I’m not beautiful or immortal or telepathic or…)

3. If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?

Obviously, I’d love to travel into space, but I suspect that isn’t going to happen.

When I was younger, we (my husband and I) used to travel a lot. We travelled around Africa and South East Asia. We spent three months making our way from Bali to Bangkok and another three working our way from Dehli to Kerala (in southern India). All our spare time and all out spare money went on travel. But these days we’ve settled down and have a few responsibilities that make travel a little difficult (namely four dogs, three cats, a horse, two goats, some chickens and a three legged Vietnamese pot-bellied pig.) But there are still places I’d love to visit. I’d like to see the pyramids in Egypt, and I’d love to ride up the Inca trails in Peru and drift down the Amazon in a canoe. Oh dear – I’m feeling restless now.

4. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Write what you love because there are times you are going to get discouraged and only that will keep you going.

5. Finally, Star Wars or Star Trek?

Easy one. Star Wars. But the early films. Especially The Empire Strikes Back. I fell in love with Han Solo at an impressionable age and never really recovered.

About Break Out

The year is 3048, Earth is no longer habitable, and man has fled to the stars where they’ve discovered the secret of immortality—Meridian. Unfortunately, the radioactive mineral is exorbitantly expensive and only available to a select few. A new class comprised of the super rich and immortal soon evolves. The Collective, as they’re called, rule the universe.
Two-thousand-year-old Ricardo Sanchez, vampire and rogue pilot of the space cruiser, El Cazador, can’t resist two things: gorgeous women and impossible jobs. When beautiful Skylar Rossaria approaches him to break a prisoner out of the Collective’s maximum security prison on Trakis One, Rico jumps at the chance. Being hunted by the Collective has never been so dangerous–or so fun!

Buy here: 

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

OR

ENTER A CHANCE TO WIN AN ECOPY OF BREAK OUT

How? Easy, leave a comment below and share your favorite sci-fi or paranormal book. 

You have until Noon (US Central) on Sunday. My beautiful 4 year old daughter loves to draw names out of hats and we’ll notify the winner via email.

Thanks for stopping by!

5 comments on “{Blog Tour} 5 Questions with author Nina Croft, PLUS A GIVEAWAY!

  • No way I can pick just one… I usually read series and here are some of my favorites: Night Huntress series, Chicagoland Vampires series and Black Dagger Brotherhood series.
    email: bymyself.g AT gmail DOT com

  • Oh wow this sounds amazing! Hmm sci-fi, I’m kind of old school in that I still love to read Isaac Asimov stories once in awhile, and the old Star Wars tie – ins. I’ll have to look into this book even if I don’t win, seriously Vampires in Space – I need to see how this plays out!

  • Leave a Reply

