Blog Tour: 5 Questions with Heather McCollum Plus a GIVEAWAY!

Published September 21, 2012 by LS Murphy

Welcome to the latest stop on the blog tour for Heather McCollum’s sexy novel Captured Heart. Check out this lickable cover. 🙂
I’m so excited to share this book with everyone. It’s such a fun, fast read with well-balanced characters and a fantastic setting. (16th Century Scotland! Men in kilts!)

Check out how to win an ebook of Captured Heart after the interview!

About Captured Heart:

Fleeing with only her bow, horse, enormous pet wolf, and the cryptic clues hidden in her mother’s medicine journal, healer Meg Boswell gallops north towards freedom, running from the man who falsely accused her mother of witchcraft. Cursed with magical healing abilities, Meg knows that if she’s captured, she will die like her mother—atop a blazing witch’s pyre.

Winter winds rip across the Highlands, pressing Chief Caden Macbain forward in his desperate plan to save his clan. He’s not above using an innocent woman to bargain for peace if it keeps his clan from starving. But Meg isn’t who Caden thinks she is, and when she kills a man to save the clan, he must choose between duty and her life. For although he captured her to force a peace, Meg’s strength and courage have captured Caden’s heart.

NOW on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

Thanks so much Linda, for having me on your blog today! I’m thrilled to talk about CAPTURED HEART, my newly released 16th century Scottish romance with paranormal elements!

1. What was the spark of inspiration for Captured Heart?

Scenes from CAPTURED HEART began playing through my mind while my husband (who looks amazingly like Caden Macbain : ) and I visited Scotland a decade ago. The rolling hills accented by jagged peaks, spongy moors of heather, and castle ruins filled me with images of times past. The magic of its history still lingers in the land. I could smell it on the breeze, hear it echoing in the boulders, and taste it in their bannocks. Everything about the country enthralled me. I started writing as soon as I returned home.

2. Which character most resembles you in your story?

The heroine of course : ) Aren’t we always writing ourselves into the role of lead lady? Or course I had to give her some flaws. Oh and she’s prettier, sweeter, more humble, and younger than me. But otherwise, we are twins. Yeah, and I don’t possess magical healing abilities. Hmmm…I think I’m more like one of the serving wenches since I spend any time that I’m not writing in the kitchen cooking for my three kids.

3. How much time did you spend researching Scotland?

I seem to look up something new every day that I’m writing. I tried to soak in the atmosphere while visiting, and most facts are easily found in my research books or on trusted web sites.

In the second book of this trilogy, which I’m writing now, the hero and heroine must maneuver through Henry VIII’s court. So I’m doing even more research to make sure everything is historically accurate. Right now I have a blue print of Hampton Court hanging by my computer to look at while I write. I need to have the corridors and gardens correct. I wouldn’t want my hero to turn left into a stone wall! When you write about real, historical, well-documented people or events, you must have the facts correct to give your story credibility.

4. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Don’t stop writing.

For authors, writing feeds our souls. This year I was very sick battling ovarian cancer. For about eight months I couldn’t read or write fiction. I had stopped believing in happy endings and so couldn’t read or write them. My husband encouraged me to write because he knew how much happier I was when I did. So I wrote about the war I was waging in my body and how desperate I was to survive to raise my three young kids. I blogged during 15 months of chemo on my caring bridge site. It was wonderful.

Not only did it save my sanity and keep me connected with friends and family, but it also gave me a place to continue to hone my writing skills while I took time away from writing fiction.

Everything you write helps you to write better.

If you’ve finished your book and are submitting it, don’t stop there. Start writing the second book. If you get stuck with your fiction, try writing in a journal or blogging. If you can’t type another word, start writing with a pen on a notebook. Write what you know. Write what you love. But never stop.

By the way, I’ve beaten the cancer beast and now spend a lot of time spreading the word about ovarian cancer and its hard-to-detect symptoms. I’ve listed them in the back of CAPTURED HEART to reach even more women. We have also started a “SHOUT Against the Whisper!” page on Facebook to raise awareness.

5. Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

LOL! Great question. I’d have to say that I’m a Beatles girl : ) I used to listen to them along with The Doors, Pink Floyd, and Simon and Garfunkle as a teenager. Yes, they were oldies even back then, but I was part of the Drama crowd and we were all into “the classics.”

***** Giveaway *****

Okay, I like easy giveaways. I’m not going to make you tweet, facebook, blah blah blah. All you need to do to enter is leave a comment below and tell me what century you’d like to read about in an historical romance.

Entries will be taken from now until noon (US Central time) Sunday.

My beautiful daughter Bean (she’s four) will pull a name from a hat and we will post the winner Monday.

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to add Captured Heart to your MUST READ LIST!

One comment on “Blog Tour: 5 Questions with Heather McCollum Plus a GIVEAWAY!

  • Leave a Reply

