5 Questions with Tammara Webber

Published August 27, 2012 by LS Murphy

About Tammara Webber: I write romantic Mature Young Adult / New Adult fiction.

EASY is my new contemporary stand-alone novel. BETWEEN THE LINES is my contemporary series.  EasyBetween the Lines (BTL #1), Where You Are (BTL #2), and Good For You (BTL #3) and are available from  AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo, iBookstore, and the Book Depository (Easy only).

Reading was one of my first and earliest loves, and writing soon followed. My first book was about a lost bear, but my lack of ability as an illustrator convinced me to abandon that effort and concentrate on passing 3rd grade. I wrote sad romantic poetry in high school and penned my first half-novel when I was 19, for which I did lots of research on Vikings (the marauders, not the football team), and which was accidentally destroyed when I stuffed it into the shredder at work.

Addictions: coffee and Cherry Garcia frozen yogurt. Also baby carrots, but not with coffee or frozen yogurt, because that would be disgusting. I love shopping for earrings, because they always fit – even if I occasionally “forget” to work out. I’m a hopeful romantic who adores novels with happy endings, because there are enough sad endings in real life.

 Blog     Facebook     Goodreads

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1. What was the spark of inspiration for Easy?

Spark #1: In my former (recent) life, I was an academic advisor. I can’t tell you how often I heard the, “I followed my boyfriend to college” story. It seldom ended well. Sometimes it did… but usually not. Spark #2: Acquaintance rape is a very big unreported problem, especially on college campuses. There’s only one reason for this crime to go unreported, and that’s because the victim blames herself, and/or feels her friends or the authorities would. I want that to stop, and personal awareness is the first step.
2. How many emails have you gotten from fans who wish Lucas was real? 🙂

MANY. 🙂

 
3. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Keep writing. Take your writing seriously. Get a critique partner or two when you’re ready to produce a manuscript you hope to publish. Whether you intend to query agents or self-publish, put out your best work every time.

 
4. If you could go back in time, where would you go?

I don’t think I’d want to go back in time. If I could pop back into my own life and change something I did, or give myself a good shake, I might be tempted to do that, though my mistakes are part of who I am and what brought me to this point in my life. That said, there’s one thing I’d definitely change: I had a horrible fight with my brother that resulted in us not speaking to each other for almost a year. I can’t even remember what it was really about. I would definitely go back and change that, even if I went back and realized he was wrong. He died five years ago, and whatever that argument was about, it wasn’t worth losing those months.

 
5. Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

I’m more of a John Mayer sort of girl, though (oddly enough) in my last several blog posts, I had one titled Start Me Up and another titled Paperback Writer. I suppose I like and admire them both equally for the classic rock they produced… even if my “classic rock” is more likely to include AC/DC or the Toadies.

Leave a Reply

