5 Questions with Anne Marie

Published August 24, 2012 by LS Murphy

Bio: I attended the University of Colorado for a BA in English Literature, where I fell in love with folklore and myths from around the world. I adore languages, great white sharks, and the impossible. My work usually includes one of those three things. I currently live in Aurora, Colorado with Brody my beagle. I post a themed story once a week at Cimmerian Tales (http://cimmeriantales.wordpress.com). You can follow me on Twitter @annemariewrites

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1. What was the spark of inspiration for “La Dame à La Licorne”?

In 2004, my friend and I went to Paris, France. While there we visited the Musée de Cluny where I saw the famous “The Lady and the Unicorn” tapestries. Being close enough to touch them put that “What if” question in my mind immediately. However, it wasn’t until 2010 that I actually wrote the first draft of this story.

2. Which character most resembles you in your story?

Definitely not Katherine. She’s much braver than I’ll ever be. Dr. Aiguille resembles me in that he does things for scientific purpose. I ask people a lot of questions because I’m always running social experiments in my head. Did you know that most anesthesiologists are left-handed?

3. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

The best answer I was give was: read a lot and write a lot. I definitely agree with both, but I also think you should write what you’re passionate about. If you love writing it, then your reader’s going to love reading it too. At least, that’s my goal.

4. What are you working on now?

I’m working on several projects that are in various stages of completion. One of my novels has cannibal dwarves, one stars shape-shifters, and another is contemporary. They’re all young adult, and they include things I’m passionate about.

5. Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

Beatles! To be fair, I only know about the Stones from Jimmy Fallon’s impersonation of Mick Jagger, and Maroon Five’s hit song “Moves Like Jagger”.

About “La Dame à La Licorne”

Always obey your father. That’s what Katherine’s done her entire life. She studies dead languages and practices knife-throwing. Now Pappa’s listening to a virtual stranger, and she’s convinced the stranger cares more about killing monsters than her own safety. Pappa won’t even tell her what they’re going after. He says it’s because if she knows too much, then she’s tainted by that knowledge and it will spoil the hunt.

Can she trust Pappa’s judgment or leave her future in the hands of the stranger? With only her wits to protect her, she joins them in the most terrifying night of the year.

2 comments on “5 Questions with Anne Marie

  • Cannibal dwarves? Sounds interesting, but I keep seeing Snow White being served up on the dinner table! I think your current novel sounds more to my ‘tastes’. Thanks for all the info, and good luck with everything.

  • Leave a Reply

