Book Review: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Published August 21, 2012 by LS Murphy

Synopsis: The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

The First Line: “My eyes snapped open as the freakish sixth sense kicked my fight or flight response into overdrive.” I’m hooked.

The Good: I loveArmentrout’s writing. Alex is a kick ass girl and fun to read, however …

The Bad: she’s too much like Rose Hathaway. I am a HUGE fan of the Vampire Academy books, and there is just too much in Half-Blood that follows the same plot of Vampire Academy. It was hard not to compare the books as I read. Even the character similarities were hard to ignore. The minute I was introduced to Caleb, I knew he would meet the same fate as Mason. The first time I met Aiden, all I could think of was Dimitri. It made Half-Blood hard to read.

Recommendation: This is hard for me. If you haven’t read the entire Vampire Academy series, then you will probably enjoy Half-Blood. If you have, then be forewarned that this is a lot like VA. I didn’t know that going in. If I did, it might not have bothered me as much as it did.

Leave a Reply

