5 Questions with Heather L. Reid

Published July 26, 2012 by LS Murphy

Heather L. Reid eats mayonnaise on her fries, loves men in kilts, and met her husband playing Star Wars Galaxies online. This native Texan now lives with her Scottish hubby in South Ayrshire, Scotland, where she wanders the moors in search of William Wallace. She has been a guest blogger on Writer Unboxed and is founder of a new blog for writers Hugs and Chocolate.

http://www.heatherlreid.com/

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1. What was the spark of inspiration for Pretty Dark Nothing?

I think the spark of inspiration for PRETTY DARK NOTHING has been brewing my whole life. As a child, I suffered from night terrors and sleep walking. Although I eventually grew out of the sleep walking, the nightmares never went away. I would dream of faceless entities and demons on a reoccurring basis. I spent my pre-teen years trying to rationalize my fear while I spent my nights huddled under my covers with a book and a flash light afraid to fall asleep for fear of what would greet me in my dreams. I kept this a secret from my friends and afraid of what they would think. The dark torture of my imagination lasted through three years of middle school and finally faded. I still don’t think my mother knows how terrified I was of falling asleep and I have no idea why the nightmares stopped, maybe they were my way of coping with the stress of adolescence. I don’t know. When I reached college, I went through a particularly bad time in my life, suffered from depression, illness and the nightmares returned. I wasn’t frightened like I was when I was young, I recognized them for what they were. We all have inner demons we battle, those voices that tell us we’re not good enough, taunt us, paralyze us with fear. That’s when the idea for a novel started to form. I asked myself what would happen if those negative voices, inner demons weren’t imagined. What would happen if they were real and they started to manifest outside the dream world? What if they influenced things around us and what if you were the only one that could see them? That’s when Quinn and the idea for PRETTY DARK NOTHING was born. I didn’t start writing PRETTY DARK NOTHING right away. I did some character sketches and jotted down some notes while I spent the next several years writing short stories and articles. But Quinn’s story wouldn’t let me go. When I finally decided to give my full attention to her, she blew me away. Quinn and I battled the demons that tortured her together and in the process, she taught me how to battle my own.

2. What are you working on now?

At the moment, I’m working on the sequel to PRETTY DARK NOTHING. I can’t tell you any more than that. 😉

3. If you could go back in time, where would you go?

Oh wow! I love history. Picking one place is hard. If I have to choose, I would pick 12th Century Scotland. I’m fascinated by Scottish history, castles, clans, and I do love men in kilts.

4. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Read, write every day, share your work with other writers, be willing to learn from them and grow in the craft, enjoy the journey, and most importantly, don’t give up! If writing is your passion and you work hard enough, you will make it. It took me 15 years to achieve my dream and I’ve learned so much along the way.

5.    Finally, Star Wars or Star Trek?

I love both, but Star Wars slightly beats Star Trek for me since I met my hubby playing Star Wars Galaxies online. Yes, I’m a sci-fi geek! I still love Picard though, bald head and all. I also admit to having a slight crush on Wesley Crusher when I was younger. *blush*

About Pretty Dark Nothing:

Seventeen-year-old Quinn hadn’t slept a full night in twenty-three days. She’s terrified of the demons that stalk her dreams, pull her into a deep dark nothingness and whisper hauntingly of her death. Exhausted, Quinn dozes off in the school hallway, and Aaron, an amnesiac with a psychic ability, accidentally enters her nightmare. If Quinn can learn to trust her heart, and Aaron can discover the secret locked away in his fragile memory, their combined power could banish the darkness back to the underworld for good. That is, unless the demons kill them first.

Add it to your TBR pile on Goodreads.

 

6 comments on “5 Questions with Heather L. Reid

  • Love the premise of your book. Real inner demons…could be creepy.

    Just dropping by to show some love and support. Can’t wait to get my hands on PRETTY DARK NOTHING. The cover looks amazing. You can count on at least one sale! 😉

    Keep on blazing that trail, some of us will be along shortly. I am so happy for you Heather.

    FYI, my favorite captain was Cisco, of Deep Space Nine. Not that I’m a huge Star Trek person, or Star Wars for that matter. Firefly all the way!!!

    • Firefly and Farscape are my favorites! I was in love with John Crichton. I’ll take him over Wesley Crusher any day. 🙂 Why do all the best shows get cancelled?

      Thanks for stopping by, Brian. I always appriciate your support. 🙂

    • Thanks, Lara! All the support from my tribe has been amazing! Thank you for being such a great friend in this journey. I can’t wait for the day you have your first author interview.

  • Leave a Reply

