5 Questions with Julie Reece

Published July 24, 2012 by LS Murphy

Born in Ohio, I lived next to my grandfather’s horse farm until the fourth grade. Summers were about riding, fishing and make-believe, while winter brought sledding and ice-skating on frozen ponds. Most of life was magical, but not all.

I struggled with multiple learning disabilities, did not excel in school. I spent much of my time looking out windows and daydreaming. In the fourth grade (with the help of one very nice teacher) I fought dyslexia for my right to read, like a prince fights a dragon in order to free the princess locked in a tower, and I won.

Afterwards, I read like a fiend. I invented stories where I could be the princess… or a gifted heroine from another world who kicked bad guy butt to win the heart of a charismatic hero. Who wouldn’t want to be a part of that? Later, I moved to Florida where I continued to fantasize about superpowers and monsters, fabricating stories (my mother called it lying) and sharing them with my friends.

Then I thought I’d write one down…

Hooked, I’ve been writing ever since. I write historical, contemporary, urban fantasy, adventure, and young adult romances. I love strong heroines, sweeping tales of mystery and epic adventure… which must include a really hot guy. My writing is proof you can work hard to overcome any obstacle. Don’t give up. I say, if you write, write on!

 

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

 

1. What was the spark of inspiration for Crux?

I had a dream. (Sheesh, sorry, I know, but it’s just true. J) A  pretty blond trailed behind a man with a suitcase through a crowd in Paris. He stopped, unzipped the bag, faced the girl and I woke up. I followed my nose from there. I just had to know what happened next.

2. Birdie begins the story on the streets. Why did you choose to make her homeless?

Part of that came from the sense I got from the teenager in my dream. The rest influenced from what I’ve learned about the homeless living on the streets of Atlanta. My church works with a shelter downtown. Homelessness is a reality that breaks my heart. I don’t pretend to understand all that can happen to a person to bring them to that point. Everyone has a story, and every life is an amazing gift.

3. Grey battles his own inner demons throughout the story, yet accepts Birdie and her situation without batting an eye. What’s his strongest characteristic?

Ah, Grey. I’d have to say loyalty. Somewhere along the line, Grey confused his steadfast loyalty with martyrdom. Birdie helps him see his actions in a different light and reminds him he has choices, too.

4. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Hmm. Okay, I’ll tell you what I did. J I wrote a book. I thought it was a gosh darn miracle of wonderfulness. Actually, it was all crap, but I didn’t know it. I joined a writing site where some (God bless you, ma’am) woman told me my story was indeed crap. First, I cried. 125k words people! Down the drain. *sniff* But I believed her. I took her advice and tried again.  Sooo, my advice? Join a writing site where you can critique others work and be critiqued yourself. There are great ones out there like Scribophile, Critique Circle, Absolute Write and others. Meet other writers willing to swap work and beta read for you.  Be humble, teachable and willing to learn. If most of your feedback says your writing is too flowery or repetitive or boring, guess what? J Change, adapt and never, ever give up!

5. Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones? Beatles, woman, are you insane?

Well, shake it up, baby, now (Shake it up, baby) Come on, Linda, shake that thing! Is everybody singing?

Twist and shout (Twist and shout)…”

Leave a Reply

