5 Questions with Gwen Hayes (Plus a GIVEAWAY!)

Published July 12, 2012 by LS Murphy

Gwen Hayes lives in the Pacific Northwest with her real life hero, their children, and the pets that own them. She writes stories for teen and adult readers about love, angst, and saving the world.

Gwen’s first novel, Falling Under, was released in March of 2011 by NAL/Penguin and followed up by the sequel, Dreaming Awake, in January of 2012.

She is represented by Jessica Sinsheimer of the Sarah Jane Freymann Literary Agency.

*Gwen also refuses to behave and get a proper author photo taken. Obviously.

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1.      Dreaming Awake is the second book in the Falling Under series. Did you plan Falling Under as a series?

I didn’t, actually.  Falling Under was a standalone, but my editor wanted two books, and who am I to say no?  The book that came out is so different from the one we started with. Varnie wasn’t even in it. Can you imagine not having Varnie in the books?

People ask if there is a third, and my standard answer is “not at this time.” Never say never though.

2.      Where did the spark of inspiration come from for Theia?

The very first line, “Everything changed the night I saw the burning man fall from the sky.” was my inspiration. I had no idea what was coming. I just couldn’t stop hearing it in my head. Truthfully, as hard as I try to plot books, I have been unsuccessful. I don’t know what is coming until it happens. I had no idea what Haden was until he told Theia.

3.      What’s next on the horizon?

We haven’t decided yet. I haven’t found just the right spark, so I keep wading into a few stories with my lightning rod hoping to be struck down.

4.      What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Read as much as you can. Listen to audiobooks, too. I find listening to stories helps me slow down the cadence in my own writing. And be aware of the market, but don’t be a slave to it. It changes so fast. The best you can do is write the book you want to read yourself.

5.      Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

Oh no. I couldn’t possibly. I love them both so much. You’re the meanest interviewer ever. 🙂

 Gwen is giving one person a FREE E-BOOK! YAY! Thanks, Gwen. 

I’ll make it easy for you. The FIRST person (legit person, not spammer) will win an ebook from Gwen’s backlist. Just leave your email addy. Easy Peasy. Either way, drop of note to say HEY.

Thanks for stopping by!

2 comments on “5 Questions with Gwen Hayes (Plus a GIVEAWAY!)

  • Love where the story started with a singular line. So many of my ‘projects’ have been born from a teeny tiny scene of a character (or characters) doing ‘something’/holding a conversation, and I’ve just jotted that down to see where it ends up. I love the freedom that comes with not planning. Though some stories certainly talk louder than others. Thanks for the giveaway. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

