Book Review: Frey by Melissa Wright

Published May 27, 2012 by LS Murphy

Synopsis: Unaware she’s been bound from using magic, Frey leads a small, miserable life in the village where she’s sent after the death of her mother. But a tiny spark starts a fury of changes and she finds hersef running from everything she’s ever known.

Hunted by council for practicing dark magic, she is certain she’s been wrongfully accused. She flees, and is forced to rely on strangers for protection. But the farther she strays from home, the more her magic and forgotten memories return and she begins to suspect all is not as it seems.

The Cover: Interesting. It’s not a bad cover.

The First Line: “‘Crap!’ I stubbed my toe on a root, one of the pitfalls of living in a tree. It throbbed and I slammed the door.” This threw me off. I didn’t realize that Frey was an elf and it isn’t mentioned in the blurb. In hindsight, the opening lines make sense, but I found it confusing at first.

The Good: Chevell and Steed are great characters. I like how they balance one another out. I also enjoyed Ruby.

Once Frey meets Steed and Ruby, the pace of the story picks up quite a bit.

The twist at the end is actually pretty refreshing too.

The Bad: Frey comes across as weak to me. She doesn’t try all that hard to figure out what is going on. Instead she seems fine to just go with the flow. Her emotions are fleeting and I’m never really sure what she’s feeling. Using “Grrr” tells me Frey is angry when, as a reader, I want to see her anger.

On top of that, I don’t like that the character willingly lets herself be drugged. On multiple occasions at that.

Recommendation: If you are looking for a lightweight version of The Lord of the Rings, this might be up your alley.

Leave a Reply

