5 Questions with Melissa Wright

Published May 27, 2012 by LS Murphy

Melissa Wright lives in the Midwest with her family, dogs, and horses. When she’s not writing, Melissa enjoys spending time outdoors – but only if it’s warm 😉 – and loves to paint.

 

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

 

1. Congrats on your novel Frey. Where did the spark of inspiration for Frey come from?

The short answer – We watch a lot of Sy-Fy. The long answer – I love to read and I wanted to write a story my friends and I could enjoy, characters we would fall in love with, events that could make us laugh. I wasn’t aiming to be published, it was simply our entertainment. I think that’s made it all the more special to me.

2. Frey is the first novel in The Frey Saga. How different is the writing process for you now than it was writing the first book?

The first book came about nearly by accident. In the beginning I never believed it would be a full blown novel, or that it would happen so fast. But, once I started to get it down on paper, the story took over, the characters practically wrote themselves. And then, I found out about editing. lol By the second book, I’d learned so much (and dreaded revising so much) the writing took me more than twice as long.

3. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Write. Write for pleasure, write about what you love, write something you’d want to read, it doesn’t matter, but write.

4. What is your solution to writer’s block?

Change stories, if only for a bit. When getting up for a coffee break or going for a jog, nothing gets you moving, then just switch it up for a while. Maybe it will come to you, or maybe your new story will be better. If that doesn’t work either, then re-read and revise. There might be something wrong and you simply can’t see it while staring at the flashing cursor.

5. Finally, Star Wars or Star Trek?

Ooh, this is a tough one. Can’t I have both?

2 comments on “5 Questions with Melissa Wright

  • Leave a Reply

