5 Questions with Trisha Wolfe

Published March 20, 2012 by LS Murphy

About the author:

Trisha Wolfe is the author of the YA Steampunk/Paranormal Romance DESTINY’S FIRE. Her published short stories have appeared in YA literary journals and Fantasy magazines. UNVEILED is her first novelette and part of a Dystopian series releasing TBA. She’s written four books in the past two years, and is currently working on the sequel to DF and a new project. She’s represented by Lauren Hammond of ADA Management.

Visit Trisha at http://www.trishawolfe.com/

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1. Congrats on the publication of your novel Destiny’s Fire. Where did the spark of inspiration for Dez come from?

Thank you! Hmm, I don’t have a defining moment. I was tossing around ideas for a Steampunk novel, and was thinking about the different elements of Steampunk, when steam itself just kept rolling around in my head. The opposite, obviously of steam and heat—fire—for powering a steam-powered world, is electricity. Once I grasped this logic, Dez started to form. She literally “sparked” to life right on the page.

2. How valuable has your platform been for your career?

Very. I had been book blogging for a year and a half before I was offered publication for Destiny’s Fire, and a lot of the connections and friendships I’d formed with other bloggers and authors, I feel, contributed greatly to getting this tiny book spotted in a sea of YA.

I’d love to continue book blogging, it’s more than a hobby—I love this genre, and I want to continue to help promote it. But I admit, as the pressure to produce new books for my agent and publisher, and not to mention also have time for the fam, mounts, I feel one day I may have to choose one or the other. And I could never think of giving up writing. But I will always promote reading one way or the other, even if I have to focus more on writing in the future.

3. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Boy, I know this is a broken record, but there is no advice better out there than to read. This kind of goes along with the question above, as I believe book blogging gave me so much incentive to keep putting the books away LOL. I learned the craft of writing through the books I read, and I read a TON.

Other than reading…never give up. The industry is not what it was even a year ago. It’s changing rapidly. Get some awesome critique partners, hire an editor, and put your work out there yourself. One thing I’ve learned? The publishing industry is slow. Readers like to have the next book in the series quickly after they finish the first. Don’t be scared to give the readers what they want.

4. What is your solution to writer’s block?

Force myself to write anything, even if it’s crap. Get off of Twitter, shut down my cable modem, and write.

5. Finally, Star Wars or Star Trek?

I’m a HUGE Star Wars fan. I still have all my books from high school on my shelf in my bedroom, and I admit, Han is my man.

Destiny’s Fire is available now. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

