5 Questions with Heather Anastasiu

Published March 13, 2012 by LS Murphy

Heather Anastasiu recently moved to Minneapolis with her husband and son, and when she’s not busy getting lost exploring the new city, she spends most days writing at a coffeeshop or daydreaming about getting a new tattoo.

Her debut novel, Glitch, will be released Summer 2012. Read more at her website: http://heatheranastasiu.com/

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1.      Congrats on your debut novel, Glitch. How long did it take from concept to publication?

I was a grad student at the time and could only write on my breaks from school, so I had the concept running around in my head for most of Spring 2010. I’d thought out a lot of how the book (and potential trilogy) would go, so when I sat down to write it that summer, the novel came out pretty quickly. I started querying agents in August of 2010, and sold in January 2011. And now I’m finally just six months from Glitch being published!

2.      Where did you get that spark of inspiration for Zoe?

Two main ideas shaped Zoe when I was first thinking her up: I wanted her to be a strong heroine, and I wanted to really get in the head of someone first discovering emotion. I had a lot of fun writing her, even if it was a challenge sometimes because she was such a blank slate. She can’t rely on past experiences of emotion to explain present ones. Also, since there are super-powers in the book, I tried to give her the strongest one I could think of—telekinesis. She’s a small girl who can do big things J

3.      What is your solution to writer’s block?

Lol, I have a list of things to fight off writer’s block, because sitting down to get words on the page can be hard!! So my three quick solutions:

Best piece of writing advice I ever heard: Butt In Chair. If you don’t just make yourself sit down and do it, it’s to never get done. If you feel uninspired once you sit down, just start typing words, even if they are half nonsense. Just the motion of typing helps loosen my fear and can help make the words flow.

  1. Set daily word count, and give yourself a treat when you make it. Treats for me have ranged anywhere from chocolate to getting myself a new haircut to taking a long bath. Any little carrot you can use to push through the days word count.
  2. Go out to write. This only works if you don’t get distracted in coffeeshops or cafes, but for me it’s great to have a specific word count goal in mind and get out of my house setting with all of its stresses and distractions. I plug in my ear-buds, crank up some good music and get to writing. It helps make an ‘event’ of writing for me and makes it feel like a real vocation—like going to the office to work J

4.      What are you reading right now?

I’m reading an advanced copy of Struck by Jennifer Bosworth and it is insanely awesome! A girl addicted to being struck by lightning, how cool is that?

5.      Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

Beatles all the way, especially the slow songs like Yesterday.

2 comments on “5 Questions with Heather Anastasiu

  • Leave a Reply

