5 Questions with Mindee Arnett

Published March 6, 2012 by LS Murphy

Mindee Arnett lives on a horse farm in Ohio, with her husband, two kids, a couple of dogs, and inappropriate number of cats. She’s addicted to jumping horses and telling tales of mamagic and the macabre. She has far more dreams than nightmares. Her debut novel, The Nightmare Affair, will be released during the winter of 2013. Visit her at:  http://www.mindeearnett.com/

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

  1. 1. You signed with Suzie Townsend in June of 2011 and had a three book deal the next month. How long did it take to sink in that t his was really happening.

Yah for an easy question! Um, it hasn’t. Seriously, at least once every day I stop and pinch myself. I suppose it might be more real when I have a cover. Then again, maybe not. Maybe the realness will be the day I see the first ARC? I really can’t say yet. A part of me is certain that the reality of publishing is never going to completely sink-in. And I can’t say that’s a bad thing.

2. Where did you get that spark of inspiration for Dusty?

The idea for Dusty, and Nightmares in general, was a long time coming. I first came across the idea of a “Nightmare” as an actual being from the short story Riding the Nightmare by Jennifer Roberson, which I read when I was about 13 or so. In the story, the Nightmare is a rodeo horse who gives its rider a pretty rough time. I liked the story, but I didn’t revisit the idea of Nightmares until a few years ago while I was searching for a monster to play the villain in my short story Bloodstone. It was then that I remembered about Nightmares. A short, Wikipedia search later, and the idea for Dusty was born. I took one look at John Henry Fuseli’s painting The Nightmare and decided I didn’t like how the woman in that painting was portrayed as the victim. I asked myself, “what if the woman was the Nightmare instead?” Everything else fell into place after that.

3. What is your solution to writer’s block?

Simple. I don’t believe in it. For real. Writing is a JOB, a career, a profession, and nowhere else can a professional get away with a built-in excuse to shirk off work, you know? I’m borrowing a bit here from the lovely Katrina Kittle here. She says the same thing — I mean could you imagine if a surgeon could just get up in the morning and claim to have surgeon’s block?

That said, I think writer’s block tends to be more about lacking motivation. I do struggle with finding the motivation to write from time to time, but my answer to this is always the same — read. If I’m trying to rev myself up to write, I read and read some more. This never fails to get the creative juices flowing for me.

4. What are you reading right now?

I’m halfway through When the Sea is Rising Red by my agent-sister, Cat Hellisen. It’s an amazing read. The language manages to be rich and vivid but incredibly terse at the same time. The world-building is amazing. Up next, I’m eager to dive into Perception by Kim Harrington.

5. Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

This is a tough one. I love them both, a lot. But I’m going to have to give a slight edge to the Stones. They have a harder rock sound which I prefer. Although, if my current playlist has Sympathy for the Devil, You Can’t Always Get What You Want, and Gimme Shelter on it, then it probably has Hey Jude and Paperback Writer on it, too. Of course, if you were to throw Bob Dylan into the question, he would trump them all.

Thanks for having me!

Leave a Reply

