Shadows by Jennifer Armentrout

Published March 1, 2012 by LS Murphy

Synopsis from Goodreads: The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane. Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in. Captivated. Lured. Loved.

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.

The Cover: Very nice. I like that the cover doesn’t use the same hues as Obsidian. The one thing that stood out was the lone model. Where’s Bethany? I like that she’s missing, but it does make me wonder why.

The First Line (from the Prologue): “A shadow glided over the frozen hills, moving too quick to likely be cast by something of this Earth.”  I love this. It gives me chills. Since I’d already read Obsidian, I knew what was happening. If you chose to read this first, then you’ll get sucked in immediately. I’m not a fan of prologues, but it works in this novella.

The First Line (from Chapter 1): “Students filed into class, yawning and still trying to rub the sleep out of their eyes.” I’d like to point out that most of us adults do this too as we file into work. 🙂 This line gives the reader a sense of place right off, although not much else; however, readers can easily relate to this simple statement.

The Good: Most fans will pick this up after reading Obsidian. There was a major risk in this novella. Dawson and Bethany’s story is so similar to Katy and Daemon’s. She gets around this by writing in third person. It works brilliantly. We get an insight into Daemon through Dawson. We get a good idea of the events that played out to make Daemon such an unpleasant person. And we get a cliffhanger. A friend warned me that I’d have more questions than answers after reading this, and she was right. But in a good way.

The Bad: Sometimes Dawson and Bethany sounded too similar to Katy and Daemon, but their story foreshadows Obsidian and, I suspect, will intersect with Katy and Daemon by the end of the series.

Recommendation: Read it, covet it. And if you haven’t read Obsidian, read that too. Then join me in impatiently waiting for Onyx to come out this summer.

2 comments on “Shadows by Jennifer Armentrout

  • I didn’t find it mimicked Daemon and Katy too much because I found Dawson to be way different to Daemon in personality and attitude and thought that reflected well in his interactions with Bethany–especially when you compare Daemon’s with Katy, lol. But I was DEFINITELY left with way more questions than anticipated at the end. And yes, I do believe paths will cross again. There’s a JLA fan group on Goodreads, and there are a lot of conspiracy theories on there. I shan’t say on here in case someone stumbles across it who hasn’t read it. But I’m very excited for Onyx coming out. 🙂

    • Dawson & Daemon are totally different, but their situations are similar. It’s a great character study though. Would Daemon have jumped into a relationship with Katy if it wasn’t for Dawson’s “death”? Makes ya wonder. 🙂 I can’t wait to see where this story goes.

  • Leave a Reply

