5 Questions with Cherie Colyer

Published February 21, 2012 by LS Murphy

Cherie is always dreaming of romance and expressing her dreams in stories. She combined her passion for writing with her fascination of all things mythical to weave together a youth romance story that led to her debut novel, Embrace.

She lives with her family in a suburb of Chicago, Illinois.

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS

1.      Where did the spark of inspiration come from for Embrace?

You know, I’m really not sure what it was that sparked Embrace. I just started to see this girl running down the halls at school trying to hide something in her locker before anyone saw her. I started to ask myself who is this girl and what’s she hiding. As I learned the answers to these questions, I asked more until Madison was born. Funny part of that story is the scene with Madison running down the hall never made it into the book.

2.      What authors have influenced you the most?

Barbara Parks (I love her witty humor), James Patterson (his adult series), and J.K. Rowling (the world she created was amazing).

3.      What is your solution to writer’s block?

I do something different: work in the garden (when it’s nice out), go shopping, get out with friends, watch an episode of my favorite TV show. Anything to get my mind off my writing. If inspiration still hasn’t struck, I sit down with a pen and paper and ask myself a lot of what if’s and why’s. This almost always gets my creative juices going.

4.      What are you reading right now?

I’m almost done with Forever by Maggie Stiefvater. Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles is next.

5.      Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

Rolling Stones.

3 comments on “5 Questions with Cherie Colyer

  • Loved the interview! I do the very same thing for writer’s block, and it works almost all the time. Something about free association, I think…

    Best of luck, Cherie, with Embrace, and Linda, the blog is great!

  • I think that’s a very good tip for writer’s block – just get up and do something else. I swear I’ll be stuck on a scene forever, and then the second I get up to cook dinner or something, I’m rushing back to the computer because inspiration has struck.

    Love the 5 question interview – few questions, lots of insight. 😉

  • Leave a Reply

