5 Questions with Kate Jonez

Published January 24, 2012 by LS Murphy

Kate Jonez is the author of Murdock the Nobody, Flicker, and Comic Book Hero. When’s she’s not writing dark fantasy, she’s busy over at Omnium Gatherum Media as chief editor. Omnium Gatherum list includes: Chuggie and the Desecration of Stagwater by Brent Michael Kelley, Idols & Cons by S. S. Michaels, and Knock Knock by S. P. Miskowski. Visit her website at: http://katejonez.com/

Now on to the FIVE QUESTIONS!

1. What is your favorite monster?

I am an amateur monster historian. If your readers would like to find out more about some of the more obscure monsters, they can visit my blog at http://katejonez.com/blog/  If I have to pick a favorite it would be a monster of the human variety. The Baron Roman Feodoravich von Ungern Sternberg defected from the Red army during the Russian revolution/civil war. He, with an odd band of misfits and psychopaths, took off for Mongolia where he declared himself king. Of his many twisted and horrifying policies, his treatment of thieves was perhaps the most strange. By decree of the king, thieves were treated to turpentine enemas after which mice were sewn into their livers. The cure often led to the death of the patient. In this kingdom, death didn’t disqualify a person from holding government office. Several rotting corpses held high level positions during Sternberg’s rein. My second favorite would be the Liderc. He’s a gold hunting chicken who shape-shifts into a sexy man and drains women of their energy.

 

2. As an editor, what is something you are seeing too much or too little of in your slush pile?

Popular writing advice recommends getting the words on the page as quickly as possible. When I do this as a writer, the first idea that pops into my head usually belongs to someone else. Those first ideas, for me, come from something I’ve read or seen on T.V.  If I had to guess, I think some of the the overly familiar characters, plots, and dialog  I’ve seen come from writers rushing to get words on the page. I prefer to see stories where writers have taken time to think and plan and get to know their story.

 

3. As a writer, do you struggle with your editing side or are you able to set that aside?

Editing has definitely helped me become a better writer. As and editor, I’m always asking questions like: what would make this scene more memorable? Why is this part boring me? What’s so special in this section that I’m walking around thinking about it all day? When I began to turn a critical eye on my own work and asked the questions that an editor would, my writing noticeably improved. I wouldn’t even think of writing a scene just to get characters from one place to another because the story needs it (have been guilty of this). Every word has to count. The whole story needs to be interesting in one way or another.

 

I still find copy editing and proofreading my own stuff to be nearly impossible. I wish someone would come up with a solution for that.

 

4. What is your solution to writer’s block?

When I come down with a case of writer’s block, it’s usually because I have a structural, pacing, or organizational problem. The cure, for me is to revisit the outline and tinker until things fit together in a more satisfying way. If that doesn’t work I add to my spreadsheet list of all the monsters in the world.

5. Finally, Beatles or Rolling Stones?

Wow, this is really the hardest question ever. Rolling Stones. I love the songs from the disco years, especially.

Don’t forget to check out the books over at Omnium Gatherum. They’ve got some great titles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

