The Kindle Issue

Published June 9, 2011 by LS Murphy

I love my new Kindle.

And that’s kind of a problem. Not a massive problem, but a tiny one.

It’s too easy to use. Yep, TOO EASY.

I can connect to Amazon’s Kindle store and instantly download whatever I want, whenever I want. Even new releases the SAME DAY. I thought this would be awesome. And it is. Sometimes.

It isn’t the same as discovering a book in a store. Seeing a beautiful cover, feeling the weight of the pages in your hands, reading the back blurb. The thrill of discovery is just not there with ebooks.

The other problem with the ebook is that it kills the anticipation of buying a book that you’ve been desperately waiting for. Again, because I can download it instantly. The thrill of anticipation is gone. The excitement of walking into the bookstore to seek it out…gone.

It’s also way too easy to overspend too. Even with the cheaper prices. But buying too many books will always be a problem for me. Not a terrible one to have.

Now that I have a Kindle, I know this. It’s not going to stop me from using it. But it won’t stop me from going to the bookstore and buying a print book either. Ebooks are just a new way to read. I don’t believe that they will kill off paperbacks or hard covers for a long time.

No, print isn’t dead. Not by a long shot.

 

 

4 comments on “The Kindle Issue

  • I find it all comes back to the difference between a love of reading and a love of books. I believe they are independent concepts. I love to read, so I’m happy to use any means to be able to do that. But I also love books, the idea of going to a book store, picking them up, admiring the covers and adding them to my collection at home, I don’t think I will ever not want to do that, and obviously I’m not the only one! I think eReaders are amazing…but I will always love my books.

  • Amen! I don’t think I’ll ever be able to buy a kindle. My favorite thing in the world is discovering small quirky bookshops in foreign cities. And you’re right, there is the thrill of anticipation when you head out to buy the book you’ve been wanting to read for so long. I think that print may suffer, but it will never die. Great post!

    • Thanks! I don’t mind the Kindle actually but I know I will never give up my bookstore(s). There is something romantic in sitting in a shop filled with books and like-minded people. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

