The Art of It

Published March 22, 2011 by LS Murphy

There is an art gallery near my office and I often find myself looking in the windows. I’ve always wanted to paint. I’ve always wanted to draw and sculpt, but I am not very good. My competitive nature requires me to master something in order to feel successful.

I’m getting over that.

Anyway, when I look in the gallery’s window, I see things I expect and a lot I don’t. There is a painting hanging there now, for example, that looks like a something a proud parent would hang on their fridge. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying it’s good or bad. What I am saying is that it doesn’t look like something that should be hanging in a gallery.

Of course, there are paintings and sculptures that blow my mind, that I get completely lost in. Landscapes are my favorites, although a portrait here and there can catch my eye.

So maybe I don’t get that one painting. Just like books and short stories, art is subjective. I like what I like and I don’t what I don’t. Like books, I don’t have to actually enjoy it to appreciate the creative aspect of it or the time and effort the artist puts into their piece.

I tried my hand at watercolors a while back. Go figure I pick one of the hardest mediums to test my artistic skills, or lack there of. I had a little success though. And by that, I mean that I ended up with a couple of paintings that weren’t the worst thing in the world.

My painting will never hang in a gallery, but I’m very proud of them. 

Even if they are only fridge worthy.

Leave a Reply

