2010 Wrap Up

Published December 30, 2010 by LS Murphy

2010 is coming to a close. This is both a good thing and a bad thing.

Bad because I’m another year older. (It’s true!)

Good because my future looks fantastic.

I set out this year determined to get published. AND I DID.

My first short story, “The Client” appeared in the May/June edition of Orion’s Child.

I was so elated to get that e-mail that I shook my husband awake. He was both happy and not-so-happy by this.

After receiving a kind and helpful rejection from an editor, I revised my short story “Exist” and found it a home. “Exist” was accepted by Adventures of the Average Woman for their Fearsome Fall issue.

Late in 2009, I joined a critique group. It paid off for me in 2010. Not only did I meet some fantastic people, but I got some much need advice. I really learned a ton from this group of guys and gals. Even when I had the look of “huh” on my face, which is more often than not, I was listening, absorbing, comprehending…Well, you get my point. I may have started this part of my journey in 2009, but it really affected me this year. It is because of this great group that I DID have a little success and joining them is not a decision I will ever regret.

While I didn’t land my dream agent this year, I’m really happy with the way things turned out. Each step I take is one in the right direction. Will I get there in 2011? Maybe, maybe not. But I will get there.

It’s just a matter of time.

One comment on “2010 Wrap Up

  • Congratulations on having stories published! That is fabulous.

    I love my critique group too. It is an awesome thing when you find others who will give you honest feedback and support.

    Hope 2011 brings you continued success. Cheers!

  • Leave a Reply

