The FUN of NaNoWriMo

Published October 29, 2010 by LS Murphy

Okay, as you know, I’ve decided to join in on another NaNoWriMo. I’m a glutton for punishment.

There seem to be some detractors out in the cyber-world about the month-long event. “It won’t give you a good novel” or “You can’t possibly write a novel in 30 days” or “That’s just stupid”.

To all those naysayers, I say YOU ARE WRONG.

(Although, I love the excuse of “That’s just stupid” because it is so eloquent and I use it often for things that I find…well, stupid. But that’s not the point.)

When I participated last year, finishing a novel was the second priority. The first was to meet like-minded people, to make friends if you will. I’m not a very outgoing person. I usually stick my foot in my mouth or trip over what I really want to say. Normally, I just don’t talk to people until I get to know them. It’s not that I find other people scary (although there are some I do); it’s that I never feel comfortable with casual conversation.

I’m weird that way.

So, NaNo for me is more about hanging out with people who write, whether professional or not. It’s about having fun. It’s about taking a risk. It is anything but stupid.

And if I end up with a first draft at the end, no matter how crappy it might be, so be it.

2 comments on “The FUN of NaNoWriMo

  • For me, NaNo is all about the novel. But that’s what’s great about it. It’s an event that can be different for everyone. Even for people who want to break the “rules.” Otherwise, why would OLL include a forum for NaNo rebels: playwrights, non-fiction writers, short story writers.

  • I agree! Since I did NaNo last year, I’ve become more of an edit-as-you-go type of writer. Not to the point of slowing down the process though.
    NaNo will be tough just for that.
    But I’m ridiculously competitive! LOL That’s another great thing about it. Makes you want to WIN.

  • Leave a Reply

