When Inspirations Strikes

Published October 22, 2010 by LS Murphy

It never fails.

N-E-V-E-R.

Inspiration always strikes at the most inconvenient times.

A-L-W-A-Y-S.

As I was scurrying about the city today, I had a great idea. It was brilliant. It was mind-blowing. Naturally, I can’t remember what it was now. Probably because I’m sitting at a desk with plenty of things to write with/on. Probably because I’m not in that half-tranquil state that driving gives me.

Worse yet, now I’m unfocused on my other projects.

This is a constant problem for writers. Always having a notebook handy helps, which I do. But there are times when you just can’t write it down. Sadly, those brilliant moments end up getting lost for weeks or months or, sometimes, forever.

All I can so is hope it comes back to me. Maybe it will. Maybe it won’t.

The Muse knows how to torture, does she not?

3 comments on “When Inspirations Strikes

  • I like where this starts. Its almost a cliff-hanger in itself. And the statue like people are interesting b/c I don’t know if Quincy caused this or if something else did. There is a lot of character building in this short excerpt. I feel as if I’ve been introduced to the major characters.

    I like how this starts with passive action, but is focussed on characters and setting.

    Well done.

    ……..dhole

  • Leave a Reply

