Just Call Me Brett Favre

Published October 18, 2010 by LS Murphy

At the end of the 2009 softball season (co-ed rec league), I mulled retirement. Eventually, I came to the conclusion that it was time to hang up my cleats.

Truth is I’d been wavering back and forth since the great knee injury of 2006. I was, as usual, playing third base and fielded a sharply hit grounder to my left. As I came up, still running, to throw the ball, my left foot stuck to the ground while my body continued moving to the left. I went down hard after feeling my knee pull apart and snap back together.

My shortstop came over to help me up. I told him to call for an ambulance. I wasn’t going anywhere on my own. Turned out to be a partial tear on my ACL. I got lucky. No surgery. (For the record, I did throw the guy out at first.)

That was the first time I thought about retirement.

But I came back and played first base  that fall even though I couldn’t run. I could barely hobble. I’m a glutton for punishment.

I missed the 2008 summer season because I was pregnant but played that fall. We won the league championship. Still, I wondered if I shouldn’t stop. My newborn was my top priority.

Again, I came back for the summer 2009 season. Somewhere along the way, softball stopped being fun. I didn’t enjoy being on the field at all. Even my fun-loving teammates were getting on my last nerve. So that was it. I decided then and there that I was done.

Until Saturday.

My old team needed a girl for the playoffs on Sunday. I didn’t have anything else going on and the games were early so I said why not, figuring this to be a one-time, good-deal. Plus the weather was great for October.

We sucked big time, losing both games. My fielding wasn’t great, but I was out of practice. I went 1 for 2 with a walk in the first game and 2-4 in the second. There was only one at-bat that wasn’t quality.

Most importantly, I had a blast. I joked with my team and our opponents. I told the outfielders to “Stop playing like Randy Winn and hit the cut-off man” and the pitcher to “Stop pitching like Lohse, we need Wainwright”. That got several chuckles. When one guy on an opposing team came to bat, I shouted “He’s been drinking  heavily; get him out.” He shook his head at me with a big grin.

Whatever was missing last summer had return. Softball was fun again. I relished it.

After the game, the manager asked me if I was going to play next year.

I smiled then told him I’d think about it.

I’ve got time.

One comment on “Just Call Me Brett Favre

  • Its hard to not playing such a great game when you love it but the time does come . Great reading glad you enjoyed playing the game.

  • Leave a Reply

