To NaNo or Not to NaNo

Published October 5, 2010 by LS Murphy

November is fast approaching. Along with the anticipation of turkey during Thanksgiving dinner, a lot of writers will be participating in NaNoWriMo. For the uninitiated, that stands for National Novel Writing Month.

The goal of participants in NaNoWriMo is to write a 50,000 word novel between November 1st and November 31st. That’s a pace of about 1667 words a day. Seem like a lot.

It is.

Last year, I NaNoed for the first time. Since my Turkey Day plans were out of town, I intended on finishing before Thanksgiving. And I did. I crossed that goal the day before I was set to drive off onto the blackened highways. It was exhilarating.

My first draft is still in the same shape as it was at the beginning of December. I haven’t looked at it since January when I read it and realized how much it needed to be rewritten. It is a true first draft.

Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t given up on the story yet. In fact, I really like where it took me in the end. It wasn’t what I had planned and writing it was a lot of fun. But there are so many things wrong with it. First, I changed the time of the novel about halfway through. Second, I got a little carried away with the romance aspect. Okay, a lot carried away. Third, the story was supposed to center around the relationship between a girl and her father but …well, see the second problem. None of them are insurmountable.

I’m just not ready to fix it yet.

As I sit here and look at the calendar, I have a decision to make. Should I NaNo again? I’m in the middle of major revisions on another manuscript and in the planning stages of something new. I did have a lot of fun last year just forcing myself to write. And I met some new people during the few write-ins I attended. Plus, I’m not going out of town this year for Thanksgiving….

Hmmmmm……Yeah, I think I will. I do have a draft to start after all. 🙂

Join in. Go to www.nanowrimo.org.

If you want to make me a writing buddy, my user name is LSMurphy. I hope to see your word count!

Leave a Reply

