Critiques & Joys

Published September 17, 2010 by LS Murphy

I got my critique back from my new best friend, Jonathan. (*Waves*)

I couldn’t be happier.

Not just because, overall, he liked it but because he gave me valuable feedback. But isn’t that what a critique is?

Yes and no. It really depends on WHO is doing the critiquing.

In my younger writing life, I got some downright nasty critiques. One of which said something along the lines of “it’s like a 14-year-old wrote this”. Well, I was a fourteen year old but it was still mean. Other things I’ve heard as I got older, “everyone wants to be a writer, what makes you so different”, or “I swear everyone I met thinks they can write when they can’t”, and “it’s juvenile” or, better yet, “why don’t you quit trying?” No, those aren’t all verbatim but that’s what I remember.

So I did quit. I gave up and gave in.

But now I’m back.

Last year when I joined my critique group, I did so with some serious nerves. Yes, as I stated in an earlier post, I jumped in feet first. (There is ALWAYS more to every story. Sometimes it takes a while to get down to the nitty-gritty.)

Even though I may have taken a quick plunge into the world of literary critiques, my level of trust had to be pretty darned high to let someone read the entire manuscript I wrote. ( See, didn’t know that I was THAT terrified, did you?)

So, now it’s been read. Yesterday, I got it back. After checking my email obsessively for a couple of weeks, IT WAS THERE.

I stared at it for about five minutes before getting up the courage to open it.

Don’t get me wrong, there was no doubt in my mind that it would be a GOOD critique with positivity and honesty. But the little girl who still drives me batty expected the worse. Imagine her surprise!

While I may take away some great writing tips for my manuscript, the most important thing I will take away from this is TRUST.

Well, trust and the fact that I like to use the word “little” a little too much.

Leave a Reply

