One Day at a Time

Published August 30, 2010 by LS Murphy

It’s not a secret that I’m in the beginning stages of establishing a writing career. Since it is such a slow process, I find myself obsessing (yes I can be a little obsessive) over my e-mail, twitter feed, and scanning for anything and everything about agents, publishing houses, and magazines.

Sadly, it leaves little time for doing the actual work.

So I had a little talk with my obsessive self this weekend. We came up with a plan.

1. I’m allowed to let myself check my e-mail once in the morning and once in the afternoon. Now, take into consideration that I have a Crackberry which I have to stick in its sleeve to achieve this goal. Since I will still take any phone calls when not checking my e-mail, there is leeway to cheat. How can I not look !

2. I have to set a word count goal everyday. AND STICK TO IT. Naturally, I tend to fail here. Not often but enough to make me feel like I’m failing myself in some intentional, sadistic way.

3. I will stay off the internet, including but not limited to: Twitter, Facebook, Query Tracker, Agent Query, Twitter. Did I mention Twitter?

4. I will allow myself to continue to watch all the baseball I can even if my team sucks. Which they do right now. Sorry, it’s true. It shouldn’t be but it is. In between innings, I must do a little line editing. That’s actually a good thing for me. By breaking it up, I will stop focusing on the story and start focusing on the sentences and word choices.

5. This will be the hardest to do, hence the reason it is last. I will relax. Rome wasn’t built in a day. Rome wasn’t thrown up overnight with little to no effort for the builders either. If I continue to stress out, not only will I have this annoying eye twitch for the rest of my life, but I won’t be able to enjoy writing. And that’s why I want this so bad. I love to write and weave stories. Freaking out about it won’t do me any good.

So, there’s my compromise with the obsessive side. We agree to take it one day at a time. We agree to be patient and let things fall where they may. My failures and success depend on hard work and diligence so we agree to work our rears off to get it done, email be damned.

For the record, I’ve only check my e-mail once today!

3 comments on “One Day at a Time

  • Leave a Reply

