That Tony Time of Year

Published June 11, 2010 by LS Murphy

Yes, fellow theatre buffs, it is that time of year again. The Tony Awards will be broadcast this Sunday for all the world to see.

I love theatre. It’s a well-known fact. But I’ve never been to a play or musical on Broadway. I’ve never even been to New York. So the Tony Awards give me a chance to see performances and stage productions that I may never see here in the Midwest. We may get a lot of National Tours but rarely is it that same magical combination of actors that grace the Broadway stage.

I got my first glimpse of Glee star Lea Michele at the 2007 Tony Awards when she starred alongside Jonathan Groff in Spring Awakening.

Not only did the Tonys showcase a rising star, but it gave me a chance to see a bit of a musical that I knew little about. I’ve since seen the show and it is just as fantastic as I would have expected.

At the 2006 Tonys, I reveled in Cyndi Lauper’s performance from Three Penny Opera.

So who will blow my mind this year? The Grammys already exposed us to stars of American Idiot but the performance will be different at the Tonys. Or will the music of Fela! be my favorite. Yet, it might not even be a musical at all. Maybe the cast of Time Stands Still or Red or any other nominated play.

I don’t know who will win what on Sunday night. Will the critics be right or will there be a major upset like 2004 when Avenue Q trumped that powerhouse Wicked ? It’ll be, as always, an interesting night.

Here’s the list of 2010 Tony Award Nominees: http://www.tonyawards.com/en_US/nominees/index.html

Leave a Reply

