The Funk

Published June 2, 2010 by LS Murphy

Last night’s episode of Glee couldn’t have been timed better. The title of “Funk” and the idea of being in a funk hit close to home. Lately, I’ve been in a funk of my own.

As a lover of books, magazines, e-zines, etc., I read just about anything and everything I can get my hands on. As I writer, I study all these forms to discover why they got published. Lately, the joy of reading has simply disappeared. Sadly, so has the joy of writing.

Last week I picked up my worn copy of Pride and Prejudice in the hopes that I would get out of this reading funk. It didn’t work. My heart broke. The words didn’t jump off the page. Instead they rattled around in my head, seeking answers, studying the passages and each word. I put it back down.

The only thing that would solve this dilemma would be a new book. Something I’ve never even considered reading before. I bought a contemporary romance in paperback. While I read just about anything, I’ve never been into straight romance.

After two pages, I found myself rewriting certain things and noting what I liked. I kept reminding myself to stop doing that.

And I did. The book heated up. I’m enjoying the story. Savoring it even.

Maybe now I’m out of that reading funk. Hopefully, the writing funk will disappear too.

5 comments on “The Funk

  • I think all writers go through this stage. We’re so worried about our writing, that we can’t turn off our brains when we start reading. I’ve had to force myself to wade through a book when I immediately thought, “Man, I write better than this!”. It’s natural, I suppose. I’m glad you got over your reading funk. The writing will come, just wait and see 🙂

  • Just left this as a reply to your comment on my blog, but it fits here too!

    Sorry that your latest reading didn’t help your funk (since I just read your new post). Hopefully reading the new book will help!

    Most of my writing has been baseball blogs of late. Not that that’s bad, of course!

    You will get out of the writing funk soon – you know you will!

    • I think I really needed to read outside my normal perimeters. This romance I just finished was a little cheesy but overall enjoyable. I allowed myself to get caught up in the story and ignored studying how it was written.

  • Leave a Reply

