The Problem with the DVR

Published May 6, 2010 by LS Murphy

I love my DVR. Best. Invention. Lately. I can’t say “ever” because something better will eventually come along. But that’s neither here nor there. DVRs do have one major problem… There never seems to be enough room.

My DVR is over 50% full. If I didn’t delete things that I’d already watched regularly, even if I want to watch them again, it would have been filled completely a long time ago. The bad thing is that I also deleted things that I wanted to watch because I needed more room.

Right now, there are movies that I recorded back in October that I just haven’t gotten to yet. I don’t want to delete them. I really do want to see those movies. But with a small child at home, time is limited for movie viewing.

Yes, I know the easiest solution is to just 1) buy the movies/TV shows on DVD, or 2) download them, or 3) get them from Netflix. All three of those solutions require me to spend money. And I’m cheap. I don’t like to spend money. Sorry, but it is true. So they sit on my DVR.

Maybe I’ll get a nice quiet rainy day to watch those movies. Somehow, I don’t see that happening. Maybe the DVR fairy will grant me more memory soon.

A girl can dream though.

2 comments on “The Problem with the DVR

  • Love it – I can totally relate, and I’ve only had my DVR since Christmas when I got a new TV. I record stuff that I really do want to watch but, with Cards season now here, seems like there’s never time. Trying to catch up on Glee tonight!

  • Leave a Reply

