Earworms…

Published April 6, 2010 by LS Murphy

The term “earworms” sounds gross but we all have them. An earworm is a song that repeats over and over and over in your head. Sometimes you like the song. Sometimes you want to find an ice pick to swirl around up there and pull that song out!

Unfortunately, this is a disease that we all get. Worse, it has no cure.

A Twitter friend of mine recently had Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” stuck in her head for three days. THREE DAYS! That’s an earwom-ternity.

I thought I would compile my recent Top Five Earworms.

1. “It’s a Beautiful Morning” – This always gets stuck in my head in the spring. Today is no exception because it is quite lovely outside.

2. “Uprising” by Muse – I can’t get “We will be victorious” out of my head. Just that line. I know more words to the song but that line won’t stop repeating.

3. “American Idiot” by Green Day – The opening guitar riff and the opening line, “Don’t wanna be an American Idiot”. Seriously, no one wants to be an American Idiot. Probably why I love the line so much but enough is enough.

4. “High School Never Ends” by Bowling for Soup – This gets stuck on repeat when I start dealing with childish actions. But it is true. If you haven’t heard the song, go check it out.

5. “Friends O’ Mine” by Bowling for Soup – “It was ugly but we made it this far/Some are gone but I forget who they are/Now the hangovers are worse/But we get through them fine”.  I love this song. There are times when the entire song is an earworm.

This is certainly not a conclusive list for me. Other songs like to torture me, like Lady Gaga’s “PokerFace”. I don’t really care for her music or have I ever really listened to that song. That doesn’t stop it from wiggling into my skull.

Earworms are dangerous creatures. Singing along with them can make others think you are psychotic.  But sometimes you just have to do it anyway. So I say sing along with pride. We are all slaves to the music.

2 comments on “Earworms…

  • I experienced the worst of earworms last night at work, the Grease soundtrack. I’d push “Alone at a Drive-In” out of my head, trying to force “Greased Lightning” in its place, but as soon as I let my subconscious take over “Sandy” would jump in.

  • Leave a Reply

