A Bit of Validation

Published March 25, 2010 by LS Murphy

At the end of February, I entered a short story into a contest at www.globalshortstories.net. Today, I checked the blog, praying I’d see my name as the winner, knowing I’d be disappointed if I didn’t.

I didn’t win.

However, and isn’t there always a “but” or “however”, I was shortlisted. I don’t know if I would have been more excited if I won.

I’ve been writing all my life. But fear always stopped me from going that extra step. When my daughter was born, I realized that I couldn’t live in fear of my dreams. What would I be teaching her?

I finished a manuscript, query two agents, got rejected, moved on. Yes, I only queried two agents. I finished another manuscript late last year. This time I queried more agents.  I got several requests for partials and a couple for the complete manuscript. Ultimately, most have led to rejections. (I still have two outstanding at the moment.)

In the meantime, I’ve finished a first draft of another manuscript as well as a couple of short stories. I just keep writing. I’ll get there.

It’s a frustrating process. It’s a terrifying process. And I’m loving every minute of it.

So today, when I saw my name on the short list, I felt validated. My excitement could not be contained. I immediately called my husband then tweeted and facebooked the link. I also hid in a small office and jumped up and down like a ten-year old.

Even though I didn’t win, I feel like I’ve finally arrived.

(Here’s the link to the actual notification. http://www.globalshortstories.net/blog/archives/281 The website holds monthly short story contests. Check out the rules and regulations.)

One comment on “A Bit of Validation

  • That’s so awesome — congrats!! Love the description of jumping up and down! Such a pure and genuine reaction. I will have to check out the site and the story contests. Also, would love to read your contest story.

  • Leave a Reply

