Soulard: The Parade

Published February 14, 2010 by LS Murphy

Yesterday’s Mardi Gras parade in St. Louis was an experience to be savored to say the least.

We arrived at 9:30am dressed in our Frankenstein best.

My husband and I walked around to view the competition. The theme was Famous Couples. We saw a plethora of memorable characters, and even a float of real life brides and grooms. Yep, they got married on the float.

Besides my own float, my favorite was the Sex Pistols Sid and Nancy. Although the Thing 1 and Thing 2 float were right behind them. The winning float featured images from Bill & ted’s Excellent Adventure. Never one to miss a good party, Santa and Mrs. Claus showed up in multiples. Not to mention more Elvises than on that Vegas Strip. 

 But the parade is what mattered.

Once we started off, I learned quite quickly what it was like to be a rock star. People pointing at me, screaming for my attention, waving and begging for beads. People prostituting themselves for cheap plastic bobbles that can be bought just about anywhere. There were people who brought their infants out into the 35 degree weather, probably knowing that most of us wheel walkers would willingly give the kids the good stuff.

 And, yes, there were plenty of exposed body parts for viewing.

Once the parade ended, we walked through the crowds. Often, we were stopped to take photos with complete strangers or to give out high fives. Several even pretended to cower in mock fear. And then there were the people rude enough to point out that it’s not Halloween. Obviously they don’t get the point and didn’t watch the parade.

Naturally, I ate it all up.

While Mardi Gras is about excess and partying, it was different for me. The 2010 Mardi Gras Grand Parade was about celebrity.  If you failed to make it to St. Louis, don’t despair. I’ll be there next year in all my glory, in all my excess. Once a year rock star, yep that’s me.

Leave a Reply

